What Can Someone on a Restricted Diet Eat on Christmas Day?

If you’re on a no-salt, no-sugar, no-fat diet like I am, or if you have other diet restrictions to deal with, what can you make that’s special for yourself on Christmas Day?

I wrote yesterday about going back to my roots for Christmas Eve. I’m doing the same for Christmas Day, but with a twist. I’m taking a traditional dish, manicotti with meatballs, and taking out all the restricted elements, re-imagining the dish with a variety of ingredients that get me at least some of the tastes I love.

My low-fat, low-salt manicotti, One of these has 128 calories, 1.8 grams of fat and 70 mgs of sodium. I eat five at a time
My low-fat, low-salt manicotti, One of these has 128 calories, 1.8 grams of fat and 70 mgs of sodium. I eat five at a time


Rather than buying pre-made manicotti shells, for example, I found whole wheat lasagna noodles and have cut them in half to make smaller manicotti. I roll them and fill them with low-fat ricotta cheese. Part-skim ricotta is an option, but the low-fat variety has even less fat.

I make my own tomato sauce with salt-free canned tomatoes. The tomato paste has some salt, but not enough to throw me off my diet. I top them off with a fat-free shredded mozzarella I found. It doesn’t actually melt like real cheese, but it’s close enough for some added flavor.

Homemade tomato sauce and turkey meatballs. Use Italian spices, oregano, basil and thyme, in the meatballs
Homemade tomato sauce and turkey meatballs. Use Italian spices, oregano, basil and thyme, in the meatballs

Instead of beef meatballs, I use ground turkey, buying a pound of lean and a pound of extra lean (which costs about twice as much) to produce a medium lean meatball with about 4.5 grams of fat per serving.

It may not all be what I was accustomed to in the past, but it’s getting me close enough to be thankful for it. And I can serve it to guests without feeling like I’m putting them on a restricted diet as well.

Think about the holiday foods you love and try to re-imagine them. You’ll need to plan ahead because many salt-free ingredients are only available online, so ordering takes time. But the end result is better than bland, nothing food that a nutritionist may be telling you to eat.

Merry Christmas!
John

9 thoughts on “What Can Someone on a Restricted Diet Eat on Christmas Day?

Add yours

  1. The meatballs look lean and delicious. I can imagine the taste after everything is done. Thanks for linking me up. Have a great weekend.

  2. Sounds great, John! Thanks for the idea. My roomie and I and eating healthier too and one thing I’ve found for fooling the tastebuds (and the nose) when making red sauce is to adding a good dose of fennel. Because it is one of the predominant flavors in sausage, that smell and flavor can help you feel less deprived. I add seed or ground plus when making my red sauce, plus I saute chopped fresh with one tablespoon of olive oil (can also substitute no-salt veggie or chicken stock-but since this is only fat in my 8 quarts of sauce, I usually just use the olive oil). Wishing everyone a happy and healthy New Year!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

2ND ACT Players

Intimate theater showcasing emerging talent

a2eternity

An honest look at living with bulimia.

Loving Leisure Time

This is how I spend my quality free time...

Cooking Up The Pantry

Feeding a hungry family!

The Little Home Kitchen

Big living from a small space

The Basic Life

Balance your body and your life with the alkaline lifestyle.

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Fat2Fab

By: Raquel Moreira

Hipsters And Hobos

Food, foraging, recipes... simple, cheap & stylish... ideal for hipsters or hobos

Dietwise

Expert dietary advice from a registered dietitian and nutritionist

Emerging Adult Eats

Food for folks who have yet to figure it all out

arlynnpresser

Just another WordPress.com site

Compartiendo Mi Cocina

Sharing My Kitchen

Aromas and Flavors from my Kitchen

"Home is where the Hearth is"

What To Have For Dinner Tonight

Simple and delicious dinner inspiration

sahamed27

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!