How Many Ways Can You Prepare White Meat Chicken?

Chicken legs and thighs have been my favorite parts of the chicken. I’ve been taking the skin off for years to save on fat intake. Now, after the new diet I’ve been ordered on since my angioplasty, the legs are out completely as well and I’m left to find creative ways to make normally dry breast meat taste like something.chickgravy

The only dish I’ve cooked in the past with chicken breast was a low-fat version of chicken Parmigiano in which I did not bread the chicken breasts and I used low-fat cheese. Now all cheese is out of my diet, so I’ve modified the dish again to simply chicken breasts baked in my own home-made tomato sauce.

Jarred tomato sauce is high in salt and sugar so avoid that like the plague if you’ve had blood pressure and heart problems.

Making my own sauce limits salt to what comes in the pre-packed cans of Italian tomatoes, a small amount given how much sauce is created from a can (I normally end up with a quart for every large Costco-size can of tomatoes I buy).

Making home-made sauce (my family called it gravy as do many Italian-Americans) must be done ahead of when you want to eat it because it takes hours to boil down to the proper consistency. It can be frozen for use in dishes like the chicken and defrosts easily in a microwave or a stove-top pot on low flame.

A skinless chicken breast is about 142 calories, according to Lose It! Plain tomato sauce is a negligible amount of calories.
John

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

2ND ACT Players

Intimate theater showcasing emerging talent

a2eternity

An honest look at living with bulimia.

Loving Leisure Time

This is how I spend my quality free time...

Cooking Up The Pantry

Feeding a hungry family!

The Little Home Kitchen

Big living from a small space

The Basic Life

Balance your body and your life with the alkaline lifestyle.

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Fat2Fab

By: Raquel Moreira

Hipsters And Hobos

Food, foraging, recipes... simple, cheap & stylish... ideal for hipsters or hobos

Dietwise

Expert dietary advice from a registered dietitian and nutritionist

Emerging Adult Eats

Food for folks who have yet to figure it all out

arlynnpresser

Just another WordPress.com site

Compartiendo Mi Cocina

Sharing My Kitchen

Aromas and Flavors from my Kitchen

"Home is where the Hearth is"

What To Have For Dinner Tonight

Simple and delicious dinner inspiration

sahamed27

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!